Go for a walk and don’t come back for 6 years

I was recently listening to an interview with the late Stuart Wilde in which he spoke about this from his own experience; going out to get some bread and milk and not coming back home for 6 years.

I’ve thought about something as audacious as this for a while now and just the thought of it is enough to arouse an immense sense of adventure and freedom. For most people, an act of this nature is unthinkable yet the availability of the experience, the potential cannot be denied. At least as a working theory it is possible to get up off your chair right this instant, and leave.

It is possible to give up and abandon all the things that you surround yourself with and are involved in. It is possible to make a radical and abrupt change, severing the self-created ties that keep you in a belief/version of yourself that may not quite be what you would prefer it to be. Most importantly, it is possible to do this skilfully, systematically and in an intelligent way.

In most cases people finally make the necessary changes in their lives when they are forced into them by dire circumstances. It may be a life threatening illness, the loss of environment, things and/or people who you derive your sense of identity from etc. The impulse to make a substantial shift, to rearrange the very foundations of ones life often appears to come from outside. It looks as though something has to happen to us, to be caused or initiated by an external event or circumstance when in reality everything is self-created.

The point I want to make is that it does not have to be so, you don’t have to wait for a decision to be made for you in the form of a last resort ultimatum. It is completely within your own power and competence to initiate and execute profound changes on your own, deliberately and consciously. If you do not know how to do this then you can learn.

I am not saying that it is necessarily a good idea to get up right now and leave it all behind, there are of course consequences for everything. However, keep in mind that you can actually do anything so be willing to experiment, exploit and use that knowing to your fullest advantage.

Life has meaning, the meaning you give it. You did not come here to count beans.

 

3 thoughts on “Go for a walk and don’t come back for 6 years

  1. I feel I have done this already….I left my house and all my stuff up North and drove down to Queenstown…I recognised I was free to do whatever I pleased (although I did get tenents for the house and a job in Q’town). However, that job has now finished and I have moved on. I am in Wanaka, jobless and homeless, but feeling hopeful for the future…..my next adventure. I am 60 now, and there is no way I’m going to get old with regrets so I am taking all the interesting opportunities that come my way…I AM, and continue to be….AWESOME!!!!!

Leave a Reply

